Other Contacts

GASPA Toolkit

Compensation Redesign


About GASPA GASPA Constitution Useful Docs/Links Conference Information/Registration Past Conference Handouts Past Conference Photos Legislative Reports GASPA Handbook Strategic Plan Job Descriptions Websites Offering Job Descriptions GASPA Best In Class Awards Events


Current Partners Partner Information Partner List Partner Registration

Featured Partners

Diamond Partner
Silver Partners
Other Partners

History of GASPA

The first planning session for the organization of a state-wide personnel association in Georgia took place in 1966 during a meeting in Atlanta of the Georgia Education Association, which later became the Georgia Association of Educators. A group of personnel administrators in attendance at the conference determined that organizing into an affiliate group would provide the opportunity during the GAE conferences for school personnel administrators to share information and find solutions to common problems.

Although no longer an affiliate of GAE, this collaboration of personnel administrators has extended in scope and influence to the present day organization, the Georgia Association of School Personnel Administrators (GASPA). Currently, GASPA provides training for personnel administrators and other educational leaders in the state. It has become a viable state organization having influence on state laws, regulations and agencies.

As an affiliate of the American Association of School Personnel Administrators (AASPA) and most recently in 2012 becoming an affiliate of the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders (GAEL), GASPA has earned national recognition; and its members have had the opportunity to participate in the development of personnel policies and procedures of national significance.

Past Presidents of GASPA 1967 to Present

Years ServedNameSchool District
1967-1968J. Paul CopelandDeKalb County Schools
1968-1969Ruth SatterfieldAtlanta City Schools
1969-1970R. Brice CarsonMuscogee County Schools
1970-1971Marvin JonesBibb County Schools
1971-1972James A FountainClayton County Schools
1972-1973Ann BurkhartAtlanta City Schools
1973-1974Franklin D. GrantDeKalb County Schools
1974-1975Thomas F. JonesSpalding County Schools
1975-1976Jerry IngramCobb County Schools
1976-1977Joseph P. WilliamsonHouston County Schools
1977-1978Dewell PittsBibb County Schools
1978-1979Danny BrownChatham County Schools
1979-1980Harold PullenThomas County Schools
1980-1981Alice Ann HamiltonDeKalb County Schools
1981-1982James E. JohnsonAtlanta City Schools
1982-1984John TuckerMuscogee County Schools
1984-1986Barbara C. CooperDeKalb County Schools
1986-1988Victor VerdiGwinnett County Schools
1988-1990Ruel M. ParkerRockdale County Schools
1990-1992Grace CalhounCobb County Schools
1992-1994Richard BinkneyHenry County Schools
1994-1996Bobby N. StephensDeKalb County Schools
1996-1998Sara BoschFloyd County Schools
1998-2000Mary M. JessieFulton County Schools
2000-2002Pam HamiltonRome City Schools
2002-2004Betty MatthewDeKalb County Schools
2004-2006Bill McCownPaulding County Schools
2006-2008Andy MatthewsGriffin-Spaulding Schools
2008-2010Anthony WrightColumbia County Schools
2010-2012Don CooperMuscogee County Schools
2012-2013Candace NortonForsyth County Schools
2013-2015Sid CampGwinnett County Schools
2015-2016Macy DefnallBartow County Schools
2016-2017Dr. Sherri FreemanClarke County Schools
2017-2018Paige BusbeeBibb County Schools
2018-2019Ron WadeFulton County Schools